Okay, What am I Doing?

That’s a very good question. …I have no idea. At the end of the day, I started this thing on a whim. I don’t know what I’m doing, who’s going to be reading this, what’s going to come of it, or anything like that. I don’t want this to be some abandoned blog bobbing around on the internet in a few months. Okay, well, let’s just get to know each other and go from there?

  1. My name’s Victoria, but Tori works, too.
  2. I’m going to college, working two jobs, and teaching Confirmation prep courses with my church. I have the seventh graders…
  3. I’m a rare 19 year old. I haven’t broken any laws or slept with anyone. Heck, I haven’t kissed someone and I don’t think I’ve even held hands with a guy that I liked.
  4. I love to write and read but I don’t have the self-discipline to sit still and do those things on a consistent basis.
  5. I’m a theatre major (more on that to come).
  6. I’m trying to do meatless Fridays throughout the year…but bacon cheeseburgers, man.
  7. I put my foot in my mouth. A lot. You’d think my shoes were made of chocolate or something.
  8. I like anything Alice in Wonderland, Peter Pan, Disney in general, or Greek mythology related.
  9. I really like K-pop. Like, really, really, really like it. I’m not a koreaboo or anything even remotely close to that, so don’t get any ideas. I don’t ship people or scream “OPPA SARANGHAE” when I watch performance videos.
  10. In order to understand K-Pop, I’ve started teaching myself Korean…yeah, I’m not doing well.
  11. I get secondhand embarrassment very easily.
  12. I’m doing my best to be the most faithful Catholic I can be but…it’s hard.

Okay, I think that right there is why I’m doing this. The lightbulb went off as I was typing. This is hard. Christ said it would be but sometimes, I just sit back and say “Yeah…this is hard”, which does aaaaaaabsolutely nothing. I mean, I can’t be the only young adult who’s genuinely trying to be a good Catholic. The roadblocks make it frustrating and when you’re doing it alone, they just feel worse. I really want to create a community where people know they’re not alone. As I said before, I’m a theatre major (hence the -re and not -er). And, theatre is home to two kinds of people: the kindest, most amazing, loving people ever and the biggest hypocrites on the face of the planet. Y’know, the “We love and accept everyone until you say something I don’t like” people. And you meet a lot of those people in theatre. Don’t get me wrong, I still love it to pieces, but I’ve thought about giving it up because of those people. Everything’s kosher until they find out that I’m Catholic. Then they ask if I “really believe all of that stuff”. Then, I get the bewildered, angry, and all around unpleasant stares.

I know I’m not the only one who gets that. So, for those of you who are like me, you can come here, read my dumb stories, and hopefully you’ll get a crack of a smile or a little comfort. Let’s hope this goes well.

Leave a Reply

